top of page

Musica Antica

Eliza Jane Cassey soprano
Caitlin Golding mezzo soprano

Tristram Cooke countertenor

Oliver Doyle tenor & harpsichord

Joachim Sabbat bass

Maxim del Mar violin

Flora Fontanelli violin

Harry Buckoke viola da gamba

Peter Martin theorbo

La Caduta Di Troia
The Fall of Troy

Staged live at Holy Trinity Church, Rotherhithe, SE16 5HF. 

Centred around Cavalli's depiction of the flight of Aeneas and fall of Troy in La Didone, Musica Antica weave the work of some of the most daring composers of the 16th and 17th Centuries into a drama celebrating the powerful and highly experimental musical language of the Renaissance and Early Baroque, ending with Aeneas' fateful visit to Carthage, immortalised by Purcell's Dido & Aeneas.



Giovanni Valentini: Sonata a 6 in G minor

Francesco Cavalli: La Didone (act I excerpts)

Nicola Vicentino: L'aura che verde lauro

Giovanni Valentini: Sonata a 4 in G minor

Vicente Lusitano: Heu me, Domine

Jacopo Peri: Tu dormi | Lungi dal vostro lume

Anon: Violin Sonata in D

H.I.F Biber: Ciacona from the Mensa Sonora

Carlo Gesualdo: Moro, Lasso

Claudio Monteverdi: Anima Mea, Perdona | Piagn'e Sospira

Giovanni Legrenzi: Lumi Potete Piangere 

Henry Purcell: Dido's Lament | With drooping wings

bottom of page