top of page


Staged live at the Priory Church of St Mary, Letheringham IP13 7QY. 

In 1524, Gian Giorgio Trissino published I Ritratti: a collection of word portraits of women he considered to be paragons of intellect and virtue, but which focused above all on their physical beauty.

Adopting Trissino's title but shedding his qualifiers, Musica Antica Rotherhithe present portraits of three 17th Century female Italian composers - Isabella Leonarda, Antonia Bembo and Barbara Strozzi - through their music, alongside extracts from the operas of Strozzi and Bembo’s teacher, Francesco Cavalli.

This concert has been generously supported by the Continuo Foundation.

All ticket sales will go towards the maintainence of Letheringham's historic Priory Church. 



Francesco Cavalli: Mia speranza from Elena

Antonia Bembo: Sonetto al Rè: Gran Re che tutto a tutti

Isabella Leonarda: Sonata Quinta

Barbara Strozzi: L'Eraclito Amoroso

Isabella Leonarda: Sonata Terza
Francesco Cavalli: Ecco idolo
mio from Elena

Antonia Bembo: Volgete altrove il guardo

Barbara Strozzi: Lagrime mie

Isabella Leonarda: Sonata Duodecima

Barbara Strozzi: Il Lamento: Sul Rodano severo

Antonia Bembo: Ah, quel'absence

Francesco Cavalli: D'amor non si Quereli from Ormindo 

Musica Antica

Camilla Seale mezzo soprano

Tristram Cooke countertenor

Flora Fontanelli violin

May Robertson violin

Sarah Small viola da gamba

Oliver Doyle harpsichord

Peter Martin theorbo

bottom of page